Current NEW J-Pop Music Reviews

Home/Our J-Pop Reviews/Current NEW J-Pop Music Reviews
Current NEW J-Pop Music Reviews 2017-03-02T01:51:59+00:00




Take a listen to our BRAND NEW online radio station, playing the biggest Japan Top 10 hit makers!

You can listen to us using TuneIn or any other radio player by inputing the following link: http://listen.radionomy.com/japantop10musicradio.m3u

Player not working? Or maybe you want to listen on a different tab? Try listening on this page here.

You may run into periods where music isn’t being played; try listening a different time, if this is the case. Also as the player doesn’t support Japanese text, some songs will not appear in the description. See this link for some of the past song we played.

Do you want to program this radio station? Or maybe make it better for our listening audience? Apply to our podcast and join our team to become a program director for our new radio station or an on-air host! Click here to apply!

こちらの新しいラジオ番組を聞いて下さい、日本の大人気なトップ10な曲を流れています!こちらのリンクを記入したら、TuneInもしくは他のラジオアプリで聞くことは可能です:http://listen.radionomy.com/japantop10musicradio.m3u
聞くのを問題がある?他のタブで聞くのを試してみませんか? こちらのページで聞いてみてください。音楽が流されない時もあるかも知りませんが; その場合別のお時間で聞いてみてください。そして他のプレーヤーが日本語の文字を可能はないので、他の曲は記載しておりません。前流された曲のリストを見る為、この https://www.radionomy.com/en/radio/japantop10musicradioをクリックして下さい
リスナーにもっと良いになる為、このラジオのプログラマーになりたいですか?こちらは新しいラジオ番組の為、プログラマーとキャスタを只今募集していますので、興味がある方はこの http://mymti.org/current-openings/をクリックして下さい


CDJapan   6_Jpop CDJapan    

Japan Top 10 is now an official affiliate with CD Japan! If you like any of the songs listed here, then we would greatly appreciate it if you click on these links and buy the official CD from them! They are a 100% official website to get music goods from Japan and record sales from their site are tabulated onto the Oricon Charts! They have very reasonable prices for shipping and all prices for their goods are set at standard prices that are listed on the CD (or any other product you purchase). Many other sites that sell goods to foreigners either have very expensive shipping costs or raise the prices of products from the standard price set by the record companies. CD Japan does not have any of these cash grabbing techniques! So if you like any of these songs, we highly recommend you guys to purchase the song!

CD Japanの現在の有名な曲!ジャパントップ10は正式にCD Japanの関係団体になりました!気化された音楽を機にってる場 合、是非CD JapanにCDをお買いください。CD Japan産品は100%日本からの物でオリコンチャートにも入っ ています。CD Japanの発送料金は合理的で産品は標準価格でございます。気に ってる曲がございましたら、CD JapanからCDを買うのをお勧めでございます。

We update this page with 10 new J-Pop songs once each month, on the day first day of each month.

毎月の最初の日にこのページに新しいJPOP歌を入れていま す。

If you like it, then we recommend you guys to listen to it a bit more and if you still like it, please click the CD Japan link and consider purchasing the CD. Hey, hint hint, special bonuses like posters are often given out in first editions, so don’t wait too long! CD Japan offers great bonuses to first edition CD’s! For songs that are only released digitally, we’ll still link you guys to the song’s iTunes or Recochoku page.

曲を好きなれば、CD JapanのURLをクリックして、是非CDをお買いください。デ ジタルしかりリールされてない曲の場合、ItunesまたはRec ochokuのURLを記載します。

These reviews are as of January 2017.

2017年1月からのレビュー。

 

Our Song Reviews/Jポップのレビュー

We are looking for your feedback on our J-Pop song reviews! Please take this quick 1 minute survey about our J-Pop song reviews! Thank you!

March 1, 2017

 

1. AAA – “Magic”

Magic / AAARecca’s thoughts: The fat horn section loops give it a bit of Vegas flair that jives perfectly with the title and magic motifs in the music video. This strong start builds to a somewhat underwhelming standard K-pop-influenced pop song, however. Despite AAA’s unique mixed-gender lineup, for me, at least, their songs tend to be either mediocre or great, and this is definitely the former. 5/10
Magic [w/ DVD, Limited Edition] AAA

 

2. Misokkasu – “Dancing Monster”

Dancing Monster / MisokkasuRecca’s thoughts: I was definitely not expecting a vaguely ska-infused rock number with some fun synth hits, a vaguely disco beat in parts, and a very upbeat chorus. I don’t listen to too much J-rock, but I really enjoyed the unique sound of this one. I feel like more and more rock groups are using electronic elements in their music due to EDM’s current global popularity. 7/10
Dancing Monster [Regular Edition] Misokkasu

 

3. Necronomidol – “NEPENTHE”

Recca’s thoughts: This group takes the “idol” concept to a whole different level with their occult, horror, and gang-inspired look and performances. I can detect BABYMETAL’s influence in this group, although Necronomidol doesn’t sound as polished. I’ll give them brownie points for a unique visual style, at least, but frankly, this just isn’t my kind of music. 5/10
Deathless (SANGUIS Ban) [w/ DVD, Limited Edition] / NECRONOMIDOL

 

4. Tempalay – “ZOMBIE-SONG”

5 Kyoku / TempalayRecca’s thoughts: Tempalay brings us a psych-infused sing-song hip-hop number that transitions into a sweet little chorus. There’s a very strong resemblance to pioneering Brazilian psychedelic band Os Mutantes, as well as some of the more ambitious tracks by Japan’s own Happy End. I’m a big fan of the weirder end of the pop spectrum, so I really enjoyed the craziness of this song. 8/10
5 Kyoku
Tempalay

 

5. aimer – “Kogoesou na Kisetsu kara”

BEST SELECTION "blanc" / AimerRecca’s thoughts: An icy, classic “big J-pop” song with a slightly New Age otherwordly feel. I was almost expecting a “Let it Go” based on the beginning piano riff. This song is decidedly more pop-rock-influenced, though. Aimer’s vocals and the tense melody in the chorus are not my cup of tea in the chorus, but otherwise this song stands out slightly from many similar-sounding tunes. 6/10
BEST SELECTION “blanc” [w/ DVD, Limited Edition / Type B] Aimer

 

6. Ohashi Trio – “DOLLY”

Blue / Ohashi TrioRecca’s thoughts: Ohashi Trio has worked on some film scores, so it seems fitting that this song feels like the start of an epic journey. I detect a sprinkling of Beatles influence here, specifically “Here Comes the Sun” and “Day Tripper.” It’s no wonder, then, that this song feels nostalgic despite being brand-new. 7/10
Blue
Ohashi Trio

 

7. Perfume – “TOKYO GIRL”

TOKYO GIRL / PerfumeRecca’s thoughts: Full disclosure – I’m a giant fan of Perfume. The rhythm of the melody in this song is very similar to their recent “Pick Me Up”, and the more Japanese-influenced melody recalls last year’s “Flash.” Both of those songs are superior to this one, sadly. It suffers in the quieter parts, like many Perfume songs, because the heavily-processed vocals don’t sound quite as good without a lot of electronic music behind them. This song just doesn’t get me up on the dance floor and feels a little like “more of the same”, but that being said, it’s still a good song. 8/10
TOKYO GIRL [w/ DVD, Limited Edition] Perfume

 

8. KANA-BOON – “Fighter”

Fighter / KANA-BOONRecca’s thoughts: The backing strings and vocals give this song an edge over your typical J-rock number, and the bridge between the chorus and second verse is killer. I don’t listen to too much J-rock, but I reluctantly enjoyed this one despite myself. It seems like the perfect accompaniment to a shonen anime battle scene. 7/10
Fighter [Anime Ver. / Limited Edition] KANA-BOON

 

9. Niji no Conquistador – “No Life Baby of the End”

Drama Yori mo Dramatic / Beboga! (Niji No Conquistador Kigumi)Recca’s thoughts: This is the theme song for a movie called “Sei Zombie Jogakuin” (Saint Zombie Girls’ Academy), which stars the girls of Niji no Conquistador. The title of the movie, the song, and this group themselves are certainly different from your typical Japanese idol group. The big band sound of this one and slight weirdness make it a standout for me, but I don’t care for the vocal stylings of certain members. 6/10
Drama Yori mo Dramatic [w/ DVD, Limited Edition] Beboga! (Niji No Conquistador Kigumi)

 

10. amazarashi – “Inochi ni Fusawashii”

Inochi ni Fusawashii / amazarashiRecca’s thoughts: Quiet, pensive, and relaxing – not exactly what I expected from a rock band like amazarashi. I don’t care for the singer’s voice, and in a quiet song like this that can be a deal-breaker. This song builds to that classic string-and-piano-driven “big J-pop sound”, but the quiet moments are just as strong. The second verse integrates another unique sound as well with some complex bass riffs. 6/10
Inochi ni Fusawashii [w/ DVD, Limited Edition] amazarashi

 

February 1, 2017

 

1. パスピエ – “夜の子”

&DNA / PassepiedWill’s thoughts: Everything in this track has a slow, moody tone to it. The light drums, bass, and guitar contribute to a sombre twilight mood that’s great to hear during those calming nights. Main vocalist Natsuki Ogoda’s soft tone compliments the song really well as she sings to you hypnotically – almost like a lullaby rocking you to sleep.
&DNA [w/ DVD, Limited Edition] Passepied

 

2. Flower – “モノクロ”

Monochro/Colorful / FlowerWill’s thoughts: “Monokuro” has a dominant power pop tone. The vocals and guitar riffs rises you energy. The beat is catchy and keeps the listener engaged throughout the run of the song. Not to mention that the rock sound gives the single an edge and distinguishes itself from other J-pop idol girl acts.
Monochro/Colorful [w/ DVD, Limited Edition] Flower

 

3. 三浦大知 – “EXCITE”

Kamen Rider Ex-Aid TV Main Theme Song: EXCITE / Daichi MiuraWill’s thoughts: A fast, techno song with a great hook that reminds me of the intro for a superhero show for some reason. It’s great for dance parties or whenever you’re about to hit up a night club. Overall, it has an exciting tone with lots of energy put into it to keep you engaged.
Kamen Rider Ex-Aid TV Main Theme Song: EXCITE [w/ Rider Gashat – Battle Song ver.] [Limited Edition] Daichi Miura

 

4. きゃりーぱみゅぱみゅ – “原宿いやほい”

Crazy Crazy (feat. Charli XCX & Kyary Pamyu Pamyu) / Harajuku Iyahoi / Yasutaka Nakata, Kyary Pamyu PamyuWill’s thoughts: Kyary Pamyu Pamyu returns with an EDM inspired earworm that\s won’t disappoint her loyal fans. Accompanied with a chorus that that almost immediately hooks the listener in, “Harajuku Iyahoi” has a really catchy beat and a great leading buildup to a danceable EDM hook. It’s energetic and makes you want to dance along with it. The best thing by far though is that it still captures Kyary’s quirky nature that we’ve come to know and love.
Crazy Crazy (feat. Charli XCX & Kyary Pamyu Pamyu) / Harajuku Iyahoi
Yasutaka Nakata, Kyary Pamyu Pamyu

 

5. SKY-HI – “アドベンチャー”

OLIVE / SKY-HIWill’s thoughts: If you like Bruno Mars, you’ll love this song. SKY-HI brings a confident funk vibe that will convince you to groove along. The instruments complement the funk well and the beat is consistent throughout along with the saxes. This is a song that distinguishes itself from any other J-pop track out there.
OLIVE [Live Edition] [CD+DVD] SKY-HI

 

6. 土岐麻子 – “Peppermint Town”

Pink / Asako TokiWill’s thoughts: Vocalist Toki Asako’s vocals are on point in this single and match the overall mellow jazz vibe of the track. What you hear is a nice cool atmospheric sound that makes you feel like you’re waiting at a slow moody lounge. Asako\s voice is whispery, but you can make it out just enough to appreciate her range. The slow groove works well overall and creates a relaxing mood for anyone who listens to it.
Pink [CD+DVD] Asako Toki

 

7. Mr.Children – “ヒカリノアトリエ”

Hikari no Atelier / Mr.ChildrenWill’s thoughts: The acoustic guitar makes its presence known along with the other light instruments from Mr. Children. I get a slight folk, relaxing country vibe from this track and just sounds very familiar and friendly. Definitely share this with someone for a nice, thoughtful moment together.
Hikari no Atelier
Mr.Children

 

8. テンテンコ – “ドライブ”

Kogyo Seihin / TentenkoWill’s thoughts: This is probably the weirdest and most experimental song on this whole list. The synth in the beginning sounds like you’re about to start the first level of a retro Nintendo game. The vocals sound purposefully distant and echoey. This can sometimes make it hard to hear the song, along with the bleeps and blurps of the consistent synth beat. The melody is very unique and can put you in a trance like state if you let it.
Kogyo Seihin
Tentenko

 

9. [Alexandros] – “SNOW SOUND”

Snow Sound / Ima Made Kimi ga Naitabun Torimodoso / [Alexandros]Will’s thoughts: SNOW SOUND has a melody that is awe inspiring and somewhat catchy. Vocalist Yoohei Kawakami’s voice is made known by his wispy, but clear tone throughout the song. It’s a great mix of pop rock and light EDM that conjures up images of a wintery landscape and snow capped mountains. Play this single for those really cold winters.
Snow Sound / Ima Made Kimi ga Naitabun Torimodoso [w/ DVD, Limited Edition] [Alexandros]

 

10. G.RINA – “ヴァンパイア ハンティング” (featuring Kick A Show)

Live And Learn / G.RINAWill’s thoughts: This quirky titled track is a nice, snappy J-pop/rap tune that’s got a nice beat to sway along to. I like the nightly R&B tone of the song, but a bit more rapping would’ve made it slightly more interesting. The ending is mellow and dreamy and the beat follows that lulling pattern. It’s a very relaxing and fun song that’s well worth listening to.
Live And Learn
G.RINA

 

January 1, 2017

 

1. ゆうき – 虹色シャワー

Ataerareta Mono / YukiMike’s thoughts: I really enjoyed the soft sound that came from both the vocals and the instrumentals here. Yuuki was able to transition to falsetto smoothly, something some singers really struggle with. 8.5/10
Ataerareta Mono
Yuki

 

2. MIKA♡MISA – Make Honey

Make Honey / MIKA MISAMike’s thoughts: I liked the instruments used in thus song and the vocal work was very good. The only bad thing is that the music and vocal seemed to be competing with each other. 6.5/10
Make Honey
MIKA MISA

 

3. cero – ロープウェー

Machi no Shirase / ceroMike’s thoughts: This song made me picture a couple walking along a beach at sunset. The smooth music coupled with the pleasant voice really came together well. 8/10
Machi no Shirase
cero

 

4. カネコアヤノ – 退屈な日々にさようならを

Koi Suru Wakusei / Ayano KanekoMike’s thoughts: I enjoyed the acoustic sounds of the verses that transitioned into a more reverberated sound for the refrain. The vocals also had the slightest bit of an echo with it being distracting. 8/10
Koi Suru Wakusei
Ayano Kaneko

 

5. back number, 秦 基博 & 小林武史 – reunion

Encore / back numberMike’s thoughts: I love a good compilation and this one worked well. The voices blended just right and the melody made me just close my eyes and smile. 9/10
Encore [Regular Edition] back number

 

6. 大森靖子 – オリオン座

Orion Za / YABATAN Densetsu / Seiko OmoriMike’s thoughts: I liked the simple instrumentals used in this song. I also enjoy the slightest tremble in the vocals during the verses. 8/10
Orion Za / YABATAN Densetsu
Seiko Omori

 

7. ONE OK ROCK – I Was King

Ambitions / ONE OK ROCKMike’s thoughts: The opening seemed like the start of a training montage which reminded me of some of my favorite movies. This was a really rocking song that seemed like it would fit at the end of and action or adventure film. 9.5/10
Ambitions [w/ DVD, Limited Edition] ONE OK ROCK

 

8. 家入レオ – それぞれの明日へ

5th Anniversay Best / Leo IeiriMike’s thoughts: Nice and strong vocals worked well with the music for this song. This was another one with good blending and an overall pleasant sound. 8.5/10
5th Anniversay Best [w/ DVD, Limited Edition / Type A] Leo Ieiri

 

9. BUMP OF CHICKEN – アンサー

BUMP OF CHICKEN STADIUM TOUR 2016 "BFLY" NISSAN STADIUM 2016/7/16, 17 / BUMP OF CHICKENMike’s thoughts: I really like the drum work on this song and it worked well with the rest of the instrumentals. Motoo Fujiwara is usually spot on with vocals and this song was no exception. Great performance as usual. 8/10
BUMP OF CHICKEN STADIUM TOUR 2016 “BFLY” NISSAN STADIUM 2016/7/16, 17 [2DVD+LIVE CD] [Limited Edition] BUMP OF CHICKEN

 

10. For Tracy Hyde – Outcider

Film Bleu / For Tracy HydeMike’s thoughts: The intro had kind of a country feel to it which is a change of pace from typical j-pop. The music worked well with the very young sounding vocals that almost reminded me of the first opening of the anime Rurouni Kenshin. 8.5/10
Film Bleu
For Tracy Hyde